iOS 10.3.1 – How to Disable Automatic Updates (And Update Notifications)

In today's video we're going to discuss about how you can disable the automatic updates on your device so that you can stay on a specific version if you're waiting for a Jailbreak. For example, currently, at the time I am making this video, iOS 10.3.1 is known to get a release of a powerful Kernel Exploit (Privilege Escalation) in the summer, which means that people who wanna take advantage of that particular exploit will have to be on iOS 10.3.1 (or lower), as according to Adam Donenfeld, the researcher who is going to publish the exploit, it works on 10.2 as well. There is also the possibility that iOS 10.2.1 might be useful for a possible Jailbreak in the future, according to Luca Todesco, which means that some people will also want to stay on iOS 10.2.1.

It is a difficult to remain on a specific iOS version when the update dialog keeps on popping everyday asking you if you want to install now or if you want to be asked again later, and a lot of people press the wrong button (due to the lack of attention or by mistake) and end up with the device being updated to the latest version which currently (at the time I am making this video) is 10.3.2. In some happy cases you can go back to the previous version if it is still signed (like iOS 10.3.1 is still signed currently), but once the signature window closes, you won't be able to downgrade back to the version you were supposed to be on, so this simple NO OTA profile will completely prevent any iOS software updates from being installed and any notifications from being shown so that you make sure you are on the right firmware. The method is definitely not new and I've talked about this back when iOS 10.2 came out and people wanted to stay on 10.1.1, back in December and January, but a lot of people still don't know about this simple yet effective method, so here you go.

It is definitely interesting the fact that iOS doesn't have a built-in method to disable software updates, but at the same time is completely understandable why. Apple will never trade security for features. Anyways, this NOOTA profile method won't affect your Apps updates, they will continue to update themselves normally (unless you block them from settings).

==Resources==
NOOTA Profile (Open in Mobile Safari!)
iOS 10.3.2 – Features, Changes, Battery Life, 32-Bit Speed
iOS 11, WWDC 17 & iOS 10.3.1 Jailbreak Info, Save SHSH2
Yalu Jailbreak Forever – How to Resign Yalu Automatically (No PC)
Building your first iOS App With XCODE

GeoSn0w

About GeoSn0w

C#, C, Objective-C Programmer | Beginner iOS Security Researcher | Content Creator | Web Developer I like to bring the latest news from the iOS / iDevice / Jailbreak battlefield to you in a beautiful manner :) I hope you like the site. If you do, don't forget to check out my channel :)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>